Alone with all of us

P1060289

Last weekend, July 14, 15, 16 that is, I was part of the Peggy’s Cove Festival of the Arts. That meant I had Open Studio Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Long hours; lots of people passing through. The best part was my studio hadn’t been that clean since I moved in! It isn’t so clean anymore, but that’s fine. The visitors and the conversations and seeing my work in a more or less clean space was very inspiring. So my studio is getting messy again. And it feels good.

It did take me a few days to recover. I’m not used to talking to so many people over such a long span of time. It was a good weekend, seeing people I hadn’t seen in a while, seeing other artists, meeting new people, and getting positive feedback on my work. Of course, the people who didn’t like it, didn’t say anything. Three women came in, took a quick look, asked me to sign their page saying they had been here, and left. I said to them, that’s it? Other people stayed, asked question, enjoyed the visit.

Most of the time I have no idea what people are or will think of my paintings. I keep challenging myself to explore and sometimes I find I scare myself with what I dig up. Seems like I have many people inside my head, talking about what to do with my work. I don’t need friends or enemies. I’m busy with my own thoughts. It’s more, who, i.e., which thought, do I follow. Seems like the most bold are getting more attention these days. I will follow through with the discomfort, and listen, and just do it.

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

