At the Orange Gallery in Ottawa

Before the crowd arrived.

 

Just got back from an awesome trip to Ottawa. Well, actually I came back a week ago but it has taken a week for me to arrive in full emotionally.

I have an exhibit up at the Orange Art Gallery in Ottawa. If you are in the area, it will be there until April 7. I went for the opening reception and gave a talk the following Saturday. The show looks very good and was well received. Ingrid Hollander, the gallery owner, has a wonderful way of displaying the work, encouraging the paintings to have conversations amongst themselves. Matching them in select groups. Then I come away seeing them differently as well.

It always helps to see the work on clean white walls, outside my dirty studio. I have tunnel vision when I am working, see only what is in front of me. But still, the paintings look so different in a clean space. Sometimes when I think I have finished a good piece, I take the work upstairs, put it on the wall in my living room. That’s when I can really see if it needs more, or possibly less. Even putting a painting on a different wall to work on it in my studio makes it look different. And I do know the changing light over a day changes how the painting looks. Just like people, paintings change by how and where you look.

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

