Suppose we do

DSC_5300-2316x2326

Yesterday, when painting, I had a major insight about how to work with the color field. I have been working on some blue paintings, not my easiest color choice. But I like the challenge and when they work, at least in the past, they are very strong. These were giving me a hard time. I was about to throw in the towel.

I had been thinking I needed to limit the marks I make in order to get closer to the impact I created with the more limited palette (for the exhibit at Saint Mary’s University Art Gallery). But then I realized I needed just the opposite, to make a more complex field. Instead of less scribbly marks, use more. Subtly of course. And it seems to be working. At least for a while.

It’s funny how these things just happen.

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

