Cure fear with fright

Rosamund Street viaduct as seen in 2002 openin...

Rosamund Street viaduct as seen in 2002 opening credits of Coronation Street (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

For years I have been a more or less faithful watcher of Coronation Street. I know it is a TV show, not real, yet I can get so involved in it, I start seeing the characters on the streets of Halifax. These past few weeks, the main storyline has been about a man who has committed some egregious crimes. Up until now, he has been able to fool most people. This week, was the beginning of his downfall. As I watched the events unfold, the pressures mounting on his capture, the intensity and suspense mounted and my heart started pounding. You could probably hear it down the road. I was shocked by my own fear. I knew all would be okay next week; I knew the outcome (I sometimes read ahead, I admit, just to keep myself in line). Yet I was frightened beyond what would normally be considered normal. After all, I know it is just a TV show.

Then, this morning my friend Heather told me she had been reading a book on Chinese medicine (we have taken Traditional Chinese Medicine classes together) where they talked about curing a woman of her disease, one that had been caused by fear yet manifested physically, by giving her an even greater fright. So, with the terror I had felt around my recent eye surgery, perhaps my indulgent fears while watching Coronation Street were curative.  A purge.

My other eye is set for surgery in about a week.  Let’s see what Coronation Street has to offer.

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

