The things I didn’t say

P1040353, originally uploaded by leyaevelyn.

Often, usually, after I post I think of lots I left out. So here are a few thoughts about my mother:

First, she was a mass of contradictions, loving and critical, talkative, friendly and angry. I think I am the perfect blend of my parents. I have my father’s reserve and my mother’s craziness. We differed greatly in that she wanted to be an actor, even tried to start a drama school with one or two of her sisters, but it fizzled out. I, on the other hand, am definitely not a performer. She was very intelligent but dropped out of university. My dad said she never wanted to talk about it. So we don’t know that story. And finally, I often think I am living out some of my mother’s fantasies. Even though she was very much home-bound and deeply loyal to my father, my adventurous life would probably appeal to her (of course, minus the various complications along the way).

It’s been less than a week since the workshop, yet it has left a major residue. I keep thinking about what we did and what we didn’t do. What I offered and what more I could offer. In that regard, I definitely would say it was successful. It made me think and feel and ponder. To next year!

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

