Anniversary, sort of, thoughts

Bayswater Beach, originally uploaded by leyaevelyn.

It’s been nine years since I started this blog. December 18, 2003. I was in the City of Angels, enjoying persimmons and Asian pears and the warm company of my daughter and her family. Tamar was keeping a blog and it fascinated me to see how it evolved and to be able to share her life that way.

At the time I started this blog, I only knew a few people, mainly Tamar and her friends, who kept blogs. When I told my friends, they were amused but not enthused. But obviously, I’ve kept on. It hasn’t always been easy to write here. I am not usually a publicly verbal person. Perhaps that is why I paint. I do have a strong desire to show my paintings in public. But it is often a challenge to say (in writing and otherwise) what I am thinking about.

There was a period when I thought I might stop this. For a long time it felt like I was writing to Tamar, and when she stopped her blog, I struggled to continue. At this point, I have thoughts running through my mind with a tag line saying “Oh, that would make a good blog entry” and maybe it does come to pass, but often just wanders on to its own end.

But yes, I’m still here and have no thoughts of going anywhere else.

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Art, Friends & Family, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anniversary, sort of, thoughts

  1. Jan Heigh says:

    Hello;
    I’m glad you plan to continue your blog since I enjoy reading it very much. We are about the same age and I am a painter who also has a blog.

    With best wishes for a wonderful holiday,
    Jan Heigh

Leave a Reply

