Chance Meetings

As of this morning, I have shipped off six boxes of paintings to Memphis, TN. I am to follow next Thursday, 3 March. It’s warm and sunny there, especially compared to here. I’m looking forward to this trip. I will turn my house, dog and car over to Sean and go on to spend some time with Tamar, Dan, Damian, friends and family in NYC.

Once again, this connection came about by a chance meeting on the internet. I was introduced to Rose Brown at the Harrington Brown Gallery (where I will be exhibiting) by the painter, David Hinske. I have yet to meet either of them other than via email. I will soon. The world is getting smaller (and more interesting) all the time.

Right now, the exciting part is having a less crowded studio. It has given me more room to see what I am doing, to be more forward, challenging with myself. Room to make some new paintings.

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chance Meetings

  1. David Hinske says:

    Best wishes on the show in Memphis. I’ll be there in about four weeks and hope to see what is left (if anything) of your show. Love this painting!

  2. Ellen hornyak says:

    I hope your well. I happen to live across the street from where you will be staying in Memphis. I am a good friend of David hinske’s and also a keen collector of art. The home you will be staying in is owned by another friend of mine who owned a gallery of antiques and art for many years in Memphis. Depending on your interest there are many things one can do here. I recommend the stax museum, sun studios, and we have several small museums with lovely grounds. Were you’ll be staying is close to an area called Cooper young with several wonderful restaurants, tsunami ( pacific rim) cortona ( Italian) beauty shop ( creative american) doe ( Asian (Asian) and a Irish pub. Also within walking distance is a small movie house,and two theaters circuit and playhouse. We have a four year old art festival downtown in October every year that I work on as a chairman for the artist hospitality. Our Downtown now has about many restaurants and many people living there. I read your visiting new York on your way where I go every year for business. I just got back from a pleasure trip last month where I was there for a week. We visited seven museums and I particularly enjoyed the absract expressionist two floor exhibit at the moma. Also the museum of art and design on Africa wad amazing. My number is 210-2397 Ellen Hornyak. Please feel free to call me for any social outings or just drinks across the street while your here. I will be at your opening at look forward to meeting you.

Leave a Reply

