Stairway to where

December 1, 2010, originally uploaded by leyaevelyn.

I am about to embark on a new project: a ten foot square painting. It’s big, very big. It will mean using different materials, a different attitude, different references. Yet it is still me painting. So I suppose the images, colors, painting process may still be the same. Maybe.

I don’t really know where I am going with this. But I am very excited to be able to do it. The canvas was sitting in the studio where I have taught some workshops and it always seemed to be calling to me. Then I was asked by the person whose studio it is if I would like to paint on it. After thinking it over for several months, I felt I should do it right now. Today. So I am gathering information, thinking about what materials to use and how to apply my ideas.

Because of the large scale, I will use acrylic paint instead of the R&F Pigment Sticks I’ve been using for years. It will save on cost and smell and also make the canvas easier to roll if I need to ship it somewhere. I just ordered some acrylic paint in many colors but I really don’t know what the main color of the painting is going to be. I do know it isn’t going to be red.

It’s all going to be a big surprise.

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stairway to where

  1. DJ says:

    Sounds like you’re embarking upon an exciting journey of discovery and growth.
    Godspeed ~

Leave a Reply

