Bears and bunnies

This photo was in my inbox this morning:  confirmation of a black bear siting at the end of my road yesterday evening.  When I first moved here, the wildlife consisted mainly of bunnies and deer. Very sweet but annoying. The struggle was keeping them out of my garden. Now, as more and more houses are being built in this area, it is bears and coyotes. As the city expands for people, the country animals move closer. After all, we are taking their land away.

About ten years ago I had two bears playing with my compost bin.  I called a neighbor who then came over in his car with his two boys.  The bears wandered slowly off into the woods.  Later they were trapped and taken to a more suitable home for them.  I saw a coyote early in the morning a week ago.  Another coyote was spotted at the other end of the road a few days later.  A walk in the woods is a more cautious experience now.

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Friends & Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bears and bunnies

  1. sue18 says:

    I had an alligator on the lot next to me one time. I called the local official alligator remover and he and his wife came and got it. A bunch of kids were hanging around and wanted to know what would happen to it. “Mr. Howard” explained that it would be tagged and relocated away from where lots of humans were. If it was caught again in “human territory” it would become stew.

    Of course, at the moment I am the diner for possums and raccoons. After Katrina their normal habitat was destroyed. They do quite well on cat kibble and cheap dog biscuits. I do NOT try to catch them.

Leave a Reply

