Two paths in the snow

Finally the canvas I ordered has come in. But we had a major snowfall, 37 cm. on Wednesday and my schedule hasn’t accommodated going into Halifax to get it. I will on Monday. Then it’s back to hard labor, stretching and priming.

Meanwhile it was the Chinese/Buddhist New Year celebration on Sunday.  I went to the St. Margaret’s Bay Shambhala Centre for meditation practice in the morning.  I came home to have lunch with Lila.  Then off to a Valentine’s Day party given by a friend from my tai chi classes.  I used to be a devoted meditator, a proud, card carrying Buddhist.  It’s been good for me.  Years of sitting on the cushion, working with my mind.  Taking some classes, being part of an every growing community.

But currently I have been spending that kind of energy on my tai chi and qi gong practices.  There have been times I have felt strange about it, as if I am abandoning an old friend.  I did enjoy the Sunday meditation with people I’ve known for a long time, some for thirty years.  And I do love the meditation practice itself.  But right now, at this point in my life, I enjoy the way the body is the source of meditation in the Taoist practices.  I need to move.  And I need to learn how to do that in the most beneficial way possible.  I think both paths lead to the same end.  This is the one I need now.

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Art, Meditation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

