When too much is too much

The last few weeks, while I’ve been waiting for the canvas I ordered to come in, I’ve been reworking paintings, some old (five years), some not so old (recent). It’s been an interesting, even educational experience. I have wanted to make them be the same as the ones I’ve started recently. Sometimes I’ve come close, even made them say things I hadn’t realized they needed when I first did them. That’s been good.  But it has been getting tedious, waiting to start something fresh.

I usually work and rework paintings until I am satisfied I can do nothing more.  Often it is rewarding, eventually.  But I’ve come not to like a heavy buildup of paint.  Sunday I did something I haven’t done in several years:  I took some paintings off their stretchers.  It was sad, seeing them lying on the floor, their stretchers empty so I retired them to the waste bin.  I quickly found two small pieces of canvas large enough to fit the 30″ x 30″ stretchers and got to work on them.  Somehow my enthusiasm must have been a bit much because ultimately I sprained my wrist in the process.  And who said painting is not work!

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

