The ups and downs of making art

As usual when I put a new painting in my living room, I see it more clearly. I have only one place in my house to hang a large painting and that’s over my piano.  And I want something there I can savor, something I can continue to look at and learn from.

Down in my crowded, messy studio, a painting can look finished, but then I bring it upstairs and I see I need to work on it more. It is very discouraging because of the hassle, taking a large, sometimes still wet painting up and down the stairs, hanging it, un-hanging it, re-hanging it. But in the end, it’s worth it. . . unless I ruin it in the process of “fixing” it. That hasn’t happened yet, but it still could.

With the process I use, painting over other layers of paint, it’s generally possible to keep going until something is finished.  And finished means, I can’t think of anything else it needs; I’ve done what makes every aspect of it work together.  And then it can stay on the wall.

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

