A few more from the ranch

I started using multiple panels about thirteen years ago when I downsized my vehicle.  I needed a way to paint larger without sacrificing transport. Necessity here was a blessing. I find I can experiment more with the imagery, how it moves from one panel to another and still relates as one painting. With the panels touching each other, often people don’t realize the painting is created in more than one piece.

Another factor that intrigues me is, in these, how I am able to have imagery in the middle of the painting. Usually I feel uneasy and push it to the edges of the painting. Since the activity is on the edges of several panels, it can also, here, be in the middle.  Tricking myself!

These three paintings are each 5′ x 5′, made of two panels, one 5′ x 3′ and the other 5′ x 2′.

Yellow

Orange

Indigo

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A few more from the ranch

  1. kseverny says:

    really nice artwork

  2. leyaevelyn says:

    Thanks so much!

  3. DJ says:

    I enjoy your color combinations and your mark-making decisions.
    Lovely…

Leave a Reply

