From whence it comes and there I go

collage

I went to the Art College today to deliver the photo-collage I am going to use as the beginning point for my next series of paintings. An instructor there is going to silk-screen the image onto primed canvas. I’ll cut this into smaller pieces and glue them onto my larger canvases. This is a process I’ve been using for quite a few years: beginning with photo-images of personal importance and expanding from that with words and color.  From all this comes the painting.

These particular images are of my ex-husband, my father and me, in various ages and stages of our lives together and apart. I began this photo-collage with a picture from my wedding day; I put this in the middle.  Each time I put a photograph down, I would have to leave it for a day.  It was very hard, took me a couple of weeks to finish.  I decided to use these images now because my ex is quite ill and, as my friend Sean says, I can use the energy generated as reparation.

Today was of particular interest in that regard because, when entering the familiar halls of NSCAD University, I had a very strange (or should I say estranged) experience.  I taught there for twenty years, every semester, year round, fall, winter, summer, and although I haven’t taught in this institution for over a year, no one knew me.  Strange.  Things change so fast.  And the past is gone.  Granted, today I was in the textile and print section of the school and I taught mostly drawing in the fine art division.  But still.  Even the custodial staff had been friendly in the past.  I usually came to school early and chatted with them.  But even they were unfamiliar to me as was I to them.  Strange.  The message was clear.  It’s time to move on.

About leyaevelyn

About thirty years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From whence it comes and there I go

  1. DJ says:

    As a public school art teacher who has taught on the elementary, high school, and post-secondary level over 25 years, I have had that same experience.
    The experience is sometimes necessary for growth, but the feelings are not fun at the time…
    I tell myself I can return to a place with familiar people and welcoming atmosphere in my memories anytime.

Leave a Reply

