On the trail again

IMG_3636, originally uploaded by leyaevelyn.

Once I got the okay from my eye surgeon, I hurried into my studio and, of course, overdid it! The joy in getting back to painting has been the reward. I just tend to ignore the aches that go along with my excessive arm movements and having to haul big canvases around! I had prepared about a dozen canvases before needing to take a break for the surgery. So I was very eager for the attack. All went well, lots of paint, lots of ideas. Great!

But then, this morning I found I just didn’t know what to do. I almost sat there for about an hour, something I never do. I found little things to do in my studio, putter around a bit, occasionally glancing at the paintings, wondering what they had to tell me. I just didn’t know. Then I realized it was big decision time and I was not going to back away. I don’t want to keep repeating myself, taking the easy way, so it is now challenge time. I don’t need to throw away everything I’ve been doing until now. Just carry it further. Once I realized I was almost there, I was there. It was just giving myself permission to keep painting. Again.

About leyaevelyn

About twenty-five years ago, I moved from New York City to rural Nova Scotia. For an artist, it is a good place to live. Spacious and quiet. Despite the beautiful scenery and frequently grey skies, my abstract paintings focus on color, its expressive qualities and how it creates form and space.
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the trail again

  1. Anna Wade says:

    Thanks Evelyn. Sometimes, as you say, it just takes a gentle nudge to keep going. / Anna

    • leyaevelyn says:

      Yes. I just have to remind myself I don’t need to reinvent the wheel each time I paint, just keep the wheel moving! Leya

Leave a Reply

